

INFORMATION

Friday 26 July, 2024

Voisin beats Dunne to take maiden pole position at Spa-Francorchamps

Rodin Motorsport's Callum Voisin took his first ever Formula 3 Pole Position after coming out on top in a frenetic Spa-Francorchamps Qualifying session.

The British driver completed a lap of 2:04.321 to beat MP Motorsport's Alexander Dunne to pole by 0.123s, with Trident's Leonardo Fornaroli taking third place.

But after the first set of laps, it was the ART Grand Prix cars that set the pace, with Laurens van Hoepen completing the early benchmark time of 2:05:507 to lead Christian Mansell by just 0.011s.

Hitech Pulse-Eight chose a different strategy by sending their drivers out early on the second set of tyres, giving them an empty track. However, it did not work for Luke Browning as he ran wide at Pouhon after losing the rear, leaving him down in P18.

His teammate Martinius Stenshorne was one of several to lose their first laps for exceeding track limits but on the latest attempt he went to P11, while Cian Shields jumped to P14.

The Hitech trio ducked into the pit lane while the rest of the field emerged on to the track with 10 minutes to go.

Van Amersfoort Racing's Noel León was another to lose their laps for exceeding track limits but after putting on a new set of tyres he went fastest with a 2:04.545, the Mexican driver nearly a second clear of the rest of the field.

But then came the rest with first Sebastián Montoya, then Fornaroli and later Dunne going fastest, before Voisin went to the top with a 2:04.321.

However, as the drivers prepared for their final laps there was a huge queue heading into the final chicane, meaning that the likes of Fornaroli and León did not get to the line in time to set off another attempt.

Some drivers did improve in the first sector but because they were so close to each other there were no improvements through the technical middle sector.

This meant that the order stayed as it was, with Voisin taking his maiden Formula 3 Pole Position ahead of Dunne, with Fornaroli staying in third.

CONTINUES

Contact Alexa Quintin Head of Media & Communications - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777 Sarah Cohen Press Officer - sarah@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7811 776 250

The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP logo, the FIA logo, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 and related marks are trade marks of the Federation International de L'Automobile and used under exclusive licence. All rights reserved.











Montoya took P4 for Campos Racing ahead of León in fifth and Jenzer Motorsport's Max Esterson in sixth. Browning had earlier moved to P7 with Sami Meguetounif in P8 for Trident ahead of Tim Tramnitz in the MP Motorsport #7.

Santiago Ramos was in 10th place ahead of the PREMA Racing pair Gabriele Minì and Dino Beganovic, with the Swede set to start from reverse grid pole in the Sprint Race.

The on-track business is done for the day, but the drivers will return to the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps tomorrow morning at 09:50 for the Sprint Race.

CONTINUES

 Contact
 Alexa Quintin Head of Media & Communications - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777

 Sarah Cohen Press Officer - sarah@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7811 776 250







CHAMPIONS



MEDIA INFORMATION

2024 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP – ROUND 9 QUALIFYING PROVISIONAL **CLASSIFICATION**

					ICATION					
I		Ι	DRIVER	Ι	LICENCE	Ι	TEAM	Ι	LAPTIME	Т
I	1	Ι	Callum Voisin	Ι	GBR	Ι	Rodin Motorsport	Ι	2:04.321	Т
Т	2	Ι	Alexander Dunne	Т	IRL	Ι	MP Motorsport	Т	2:04.444	Т
Т	3	Ι	Leonardo Fornaroli	Ι	ITA	Т	Trident	Ι	2:04.453	Т
Т	4	Ι	Sebastian Montoya	Ι	COL	Т	Campos Racing	Ι	2:04.521	Т
Т	5	Ι	Noel Leon	Т	MEX	I	Van Amersfoort Racing	I	2:04.545	Т
Т	6	Ι	Max Esterson	Т	USA	I	Jenzer Motorsport	I	2:04.545	Т
Т	7	Ι	Luke Browning	Т	GBR	I	Hitech Pulse-Eight	I	2:04.573	Т
T	8	T	Sami Meguetounif	Ι	FRA	Ι	Trident	T	2:04.617	Т
I	9	Ι	Tim Tramnitz	Ι	DEU	Ι	MP Motorsport	I	2:04.620	Т
T	10	T	Santiago Ramos	Ι	MEX	Ι	Trident	I	2:04.629	Т
I	11	Ι	Gabriele Mini	Ι	ITA	Ι	PREMA Racing	I	2:04.660	Т
Т	12	Ι	Dino Beganovic	Т	SWE	Ι	PREMA Racing	T	2:04.736	Т
Т	13	Ι	Tuukka Taponen	Т	FIN	Ι	ART Grand Prix	T	2:04.758	Т
Т	14	Ι	Oliver Goethe	Т	DEU	Ι	Campos Racing	I	2:04.760	Т
L	15	Ι	Laurens van Hoepen	Ι	NLD	Ι	ART Grand Prix	I	2:04.900	Т
L	16	Ι	Nikita Bedrin	Ι	ITA	Ι	AIX Racing	I	2:04.900	Т
L	17	Ι	Matias Zagazeta	Ι	PEU	Ι	Jenzer Motorsport	I	2:05.017	Т
Т	18	Ι	Joseph Loake	Ι	GBR	Ι	Rodin Motorsport	I	2:05.232	Т
Т	19	Ι	Sophia Floersch	Ι	DEU	Ι	Van Amersfoort Racing	I	2:05.344	Т
Т	20	Ι	Christian Mansell	Ι	AUS	Ι	ART Grand Prix	I	2:05.348	Т
L	21	I	Martinius Stenshorne	Ι	NOR	Ι	Hitech Pulse-Eight	I	2:05.378	Т
L	22	I	Mari Boya	Ι	ESP	Ι	Campos Racing	I	2:05.502	Т
L	23	I	Piotr Wisnicki	Ι	POL	Ι	Rodin Motorsport	I	2:05.511	Т
L	24	I	Joshua Dufek	Ι	AUT	Ι	AIX Racing	I	2:05.632	Т
L	25	I	Tommy Smith	Ι	AUS	Ι	Van Amersfoort Racing	I	2:05.779	Т
L	26	I	Cian Shields	Ι	GBR	Ι	Hitech Pulse-Eight	I	2:05.990	Т
L	27	I	Arvid Lindblad	Ι	GBR	Ι	PREMA Racing	I	2:06.134	Т
L	28	I	Charlie Wurz	Ι	AUT	Ι	Jenzer Motorsport	I	2:06.248	Т
I	29	I	Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak	Т	THA	Ι	AIX Racing	I	2:06.297	Ι
I	30	I	Kacper Sztuka	Ι	POL	Ι	MP Motorsport	I	2:06.308	Ι
ENDS										

Contact Alexa Quintin Head of Media & Communications - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777 Sarah Cohen Press Officer - sarah@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7811 776 250

The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP logo, the FIA logo, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 and related marks are trade marks of the Federation International de L'Automobile and used under exclusive licence. All rights reserved.



IRELLI

