

MEDIA RELEASE

12 July, 2019

Max Fewtrell quickest in Silverstone Free Practice

Briton sets the standard ahead of DeFrancesco and Beckmann

Max Fewtrell ensured the British race weekend got underway with a countryman on top, lapping quickest around the freshly laid Silverstone circuit to top the times in this morning's FIA Formula 3 Free Practice. The ART Grand Prix man ran ahead of Trident's Devlin DeFrancesco and teammate David Beckmann, who both secured their highest practice positions of the campaign to date.

It was the third ART machine which got the session underway, as Christian Lundgaard set the early pace in cool 17 degree temperatures. Fellow Englishman Jake Hughes and Leonardo Pulcini then exchanged places at the top, as the grid warmed up their tyres.

There was plenty of traffic on track in the opening minutes as the cars got a taste of the new tarmac and PREMA soon took control of the session with Championship leaders Robert Shwartzman and Jehan Daruvala leading the times.

That was as good as it got for the PREMA duo who quickly dropped down the order. Pulcini and Beckmann began to battle it out in first, but Fewtrell then emerged as the frontrunner in front of his home crowd.

Ye Yifei briefly claimed first ahead of the ART man, but the latter bounced back by breaking the 1m 46s barrier with just two minutes on the clock. DeFrancesco was able to set a time good enough for second, while Beckmann couldn't improve on his teammate's time and nestled in at third ahead of Yifei and Lirim Zendeli. Yuki Tsunoda, Lundgaard, Raoul Hyman, Pulcini and Daruvala completed the top ten.

Fewtrell will look to keep up his early weekend pace when the cars return to the track for Qualifying at 4.50pm (local time).

FIA Formula 3 - Silverstone Free Practice classification

	DRIVER	TEAM	LAPTIMEL	.APS
1	Max Fewtrell	ART Grand Prix	1:45.264	18
2	Devlin DeFrancesco	Trident	1:45.487	18
3	David Beckmann	ART Grand Prix	1:45.583	19
4	Ye Yifei	Hitech Grand Prix	1:45.606	20
5	Lirim Zendeli	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz	1:45.672	19
6	Yuki Tsunoda	Jenzer Motorsport	1:45.779	20
7	Christian Lundgaard	ART Grand Prix	1:45.998	19
8	Raoul Hyman	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz	1:46.185	19
9	Leonardo Pulcini	Hitech Grand Prix	1:46.222	15
10	Jehan Daruvala	PREMA Racing	1:46.264	15
11	Fabio Scherer	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz	1:46.270	20
12	Robert Shwartzman	PREMA Racing	1:46.396	16
13	Felipe Drugovich	Carlin Buzz Racing	1:46.428	17
14	Juri Vips	Hitech Grand Prix	1:46.553	17
15	Niko Kari	Trident	1:46.578	16
	Pedro Piquet	Trident	1:46.681	16
17	Sebastian Fernandez	zCampos Racing	1:46.743	18
18	Logan Sargeant	Carlin Buzz Racing	1:46.767	17
19	Andreas Estner	Jenzer Motorsport	1:46.843	21
20	Marcus Armstrong	PREMA Racing	1:46.850	14
	Alex Peroni	Campos Racing	1:47.096	17
22	Liam Lawson	MP Motorsport	1:47.201	17
23	Simo Laaksonen	MP Motorsport	1:47.220	16
	Richard Verschoor	MP Motorsport	1:47.235	16
	Teppei Natori	Carlin Buzz Racing	1:47.477	18
26	Jake Hughes	HWA RACELAB	1:47.637	18

27 Federico Malvestiti	Jenzer Motorsport	1:47.876	21
28 Keyvan Andres	HWA RACELAB	1:48.315	19
29 Bent Viscaal	HWA RACELAB	1:48.946	19
30 Alessio Deledda	Campos Racing	1:49.124	20



Max Fewtrell (ART Grand Prix)



Acrobat PDF Format

Contact: Alexa Quintin Media & Communications Manager - alexa@fiaformula2.com +33 (0)6 23 900 777

Matt Deacon Press Officer - matt@fiaformula2.com +44 (0)7787 154 637

The F3 FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP logo, the FIA logo, FIA FORMULA 3 CHAMPIONSHIP, FIA FORMULA 3, FORMULA 3, F3 and related marks are trade marks of the Federation International de L'Automobile and used under exclusive licence.

All rights reserved.