

Vips leads from lights-to-flag in Macau Qualifying Race

16 NOV 2019

ESTONIAN ON POLE AHEAD OF SHWARTZMAN AND LUNDGAARD AT FIA F3 WORLD CUP

Jüri Vips was flawless for the third session in a row, as he perfectly executed a lights-to-flag victory in the Qualifying Race, to secure pole positon for tomorrow's 66th Macau Grand Prix, at the FIA F3 World Cup.

Robert Shwartzman finished a close second, having been unable to reel in the Hitech GP racer, while Christian Lundgaard passed Callum llott for the final spot on the podium.

Having seen Vips bomb off the line, Shwartzman tucked in behind him when the lights went out and attempted to follow in tow. Behind them, Lundgaard squeezed passed llott at the start and lined up directly behind the Russian, in his slipstream.

There was chaos at the first corner, as Daniel Ticktum clipped the front of Arjun Maini, which sent the Indian into a spin and threw the Brit slightly into the air. Those following were forced to slam on their brakes, as Jake Hughes and Enaam Ahmed also fell victim to the collision.

This handed an advantage to the drivers starting at the back of the grid, who managed to squeeze past the traffic jam that had formed. Enzo Fittipaldi was the biggest beneficiary, as he leapt from 30th to 15th. With a safety car introduced, Ticktum was able to make it to the pits and re-join at the back of the grid.





When the safety car returned, Macau rookie Richard Verschoor continued his impressive start to the weekend as he began to reel in Ilott. Meanwhile, it had been a nightmare start for top ten runners Marcus Armstrong and Frederik Vesti, who plummeted to the back of the grid, due to the opening lap collision.

This saw Alessio Lorandi and David Schumacher squeeze into the top ten, although the latter was later forced to dive into the pits, which threw him back down the order.

Shwartzman continued to chase Vips at the front of the field, managing to close the gap from 1.8s to 1.1s thanks to a purple final sector, however, the Estonian eked more out of his Hitech machine to set the fastest lap on his subsequent tour of the Guia Circuit.

Having followed in the heels of Ilott, Verschoor was finally able to make his move, performing a slick overtake of the Sauber Junior Team by Charouz racer. The Dutchman swung into the Briton's slipstream and opened up DRS to slingshot past him down the main straight.

There was one final casualty ahead of the chequered flag, as Felipe Drugovich misjudged the braking point ahead of Lisboa and slammed nose first into the wall. The Brazilian clambered out of his car safely, but his race was over.

Vips continued to cross the line almost unopposed, as Shwartzman was unable to claw his way past. Lundgaard followed in third, ahead of Verschoor, llott, Logan Sargeant, Lorandi, Ferdinand Habsburg, David Beckmann and Leonardo Pulcini.

The Estonian will be aiming to top his fourth successive session in the main race tomorrow, as he attempts to add his name to the prestigious list of Macau Grand Prix winners, at the FIA F3 World Cup. Action starts at 3.30pm (local time).

	DRIVER	TEAM
1	Jüri Vips	Hitech Grand Prix
2	Robert Shwartzman	SJM Prema Theodore Racing
3	Christian Lundgaard	ART Grand Prix
4	Richard Verschoor	MP Motorsport
5	Callum Ilott	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz
6	Logan Sargeant	Carlin Buzz Racing
7	Alessio Lorandi	Trident Motorsport
8	Ferdinand Habsburg	ART Grand Prix
9	David Beckmann	Trident Motorsport
10	Leonardo Pulcini	Campos Racing
11	Keyvan Andres	HWA RACELAB
12	Lukas Dunner	MP Motorsport

FIA F3 World Cup	Macau Gran	d Prix Qualifying	Paco provisiona	classification
TIAT 5 WOLLD Cup	- Macau Orani	u FIIA Qualifyilig	Race provisiona	l classification

13	Hon Chio Leong	Jenzer Motorsport
14	Enzo Fittipaldi	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz
15	Sebastian Fernandez	ART Grand Prix
16	Yuki Tsunoda	Hitech Grand Prix
17	Marcus Armstrong	SJM Prema Theodore Racing
18	Frederik Vesti	SJM Prema Theodore Racing
19	Andreas Estner	Jenzer Motorsport
20	Liam Lawson	MP Motorsport
21	Sophia Floersch	HWA RACELAB
22	Max Fewtrell	Hitech Grand Prix
23	Oliver Caldwell	Trident Motorsport
24	Alessio Deledda	Campos Racing
25	David Schumacher	Sauber Junior Team by Charouz
	NOT CLASSIFIED	
	NOT CLASSIFIED	
	Felipe Drugovich	Carlin Buzz Racing
	Daniel Ticktum	Carlin Buzz Racing
	WITHOUT 1 LAP	
	Jake Hughes	HWA Racelab
	Arjun Maini	Jenzer Motorsport
	Enaam Ahmed	Campos Racing
	OVERALL FASTEST LAP	
	Juri Vips (Hitech Grand Prix)	02:06.3